Advice please!

Posted on Updated on

Afternoon all

Back home after today’s hill work out. Changed it up slightly as it was a real slog to get going today. Actually! On that note. Is it just me? Or does everyone struggle with there first kms in a run. I dot know why but my first kms always take it out of me as I have to knuckle down and get in the groove. Looking at my times I think it might be the fact that it is a steady incline out into the trails for the first 2km so I guess maybe that’s why?

Anyway like I said. Changed it up today as I couldn’t face the prospect of running up the monster hill twice (see my previous post for pics of the hill) so I found a shorter up and over hill that I ran four reps on powering up one side the. Recovery down the other side and repeat 4 times. Not as intense but still really hard work. Not sure if people agree but it’s better to run achievable hills and not suicidal hills. Might sound like wimping out but it’s week 2 and I don’t want to burn out and lose focus. I can also promise you in a couple of weeks I will be powering up the monster hill for reps.

Anyway.

The advice bit.

ICE BATHS

Can anyone let me know how best to have an ice bath?

How long do I stay in?

How cold do I have it?

Should I have a warm bath after?

Do I have one straight after a work out?

Next bit of advice

GPS RUNNING WATCHES

Again. Can anyone tell me the best watches for trail running.

Entry level, not too pricy, what information should i be looking for it to display, can they show you routes to take and can you get ones with built in music or radio to listen to?

All advice and information would be great.

Thanks as always.

RJ

2 thoughts on “Advice please!

    The Edmonton Tourist said:
    June 11, 2013 at 5:11 pm

    It takes me about 2-3k before my breathing evens out it I don’t feel like quitting. My coach says that is normal. Apparently it takes everyone a bit for the capillaries to open up. That is why a warm up is important.
    There is a review site http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/the-running-blog/2013/may/14/running-gps-watches-reviewed that helps with decided about GPS. I have a Garmin 410 and never had anything else. It gives me splits, heart rate, pace, laps etc. I love it but know that there are others out there that are just as good.
    I have got mixed reviews on ice baths. I hear 10 min is good. But ice cubes in the tub make me cry. So I haven’t done that yet. I shower in cold – it feels great then shower in hot.

      runjackson responded:
      June 11, 2013 at 5:24 pm

      Thanks, its great to be finding an online community to chat running talk with.

      I intentionally neglected to mention (not man enough) that I just use the cold tap on the bath. No ice. Mainly as its a pain and my freezer can’t make enough ice that quick. Thanks for the watch advice I will have a look.

Leave a comment